Managing Editor Student enrollment for the 2012-2013 school year at Wallenpaupack stands at 3,310 as the count down continues to the start of classes, September 5th. Superintendent Michael Silsby told the school board that the number was expected to grow, as the final numbers are sorted out.?The Senior class was 325; an almost steady drop in class size can be seen from there. There are 305 Juniors, 291 Sophomores; 329 Freshmen. At Middle School there are 273 8th graders, 268 7th graders and 266 6th graders. Between North Intermediate and South Elementary, enrollment stands at 228 5th graders, 226 4th graders and 230 3rd graders. North Primary and South Elementary have 291 2nd graders, 206 1st graders and 172 kindergarten children enrolled.?Enrollment has consistently been dropping over the last several years. In the 2006-2007 school year they had 4,144 students. The drop has been in keeping with a trend at rural school districts statewide.?Last year they ended with 215 in kindergarten. Silsby suspected the number once classes begin could be around 180.?He took note that this summer there was less shifting in population than usual, with families moving in and enrolling their kids, and families moving out. Compared with last school year, no one school building was hit hard by fluctuating numbers.?Personnel matters?The school board approved the following at their Aug. 20th meeting, among other items:?• Wallenpaupack South Elementary School will have a new principal, Mark Kirsten, who had previously served as Athletic Director and Assistant Principal at the High School. The Board approved George Werthmuller as the new Athletic Director. Dr. Nancy Simon retired this year, having last served as South Elementary Principal. Kirsten was named prior to this meeting.?• Other sports appointments: Christopher Doty, Assistant Athletic Director; Adam Holtzer, Girls’ Varsity Basketball Head Coach; Andrew Morrissey, Jr. High Wrestling Assistant Coach; Philip Babyak, Boys’ Basketball Assistant Coach.?• Volunteer coaches approved were: Football- Jeff Oakley, Jim Ragonese, Zach Blau and Vince Pabst; Boys’ Soccer- Christ Strong, John Guthrie; Field Hockey- Lindsey Watson.?• Tenure was granted to these teachers: Joseph Andersen, David Arnold, Jennifer Collinsworth, Jennifer Gatens, Patrica Hansen, Megan Jagoda, Janelle Krenitsky, Nicole Kromko, Toni Ann Padavano, Karianne Politowski, Betty Onions, Erin Saake, Christina Scatton and Devin Walker.?• These substitutes were approved: Briittany Daniels, Elementary; Heather Linehan, Early Childhood- Elementary; Lucrezia Manzione, Elementary Special Education; Christine Martinez-Waszak, Elementary Teacher Assistant; Lisa LaMere, Teacher Assistant. Additionally, Hollie Caccavale was appointed as a long-term substitute for sixth grade teacher Ann Catalano at the Middle School.?• Loretta Franceski was named as BCIT Department Head.?• These van/bus drivers were OK’d: Robert Albano, Joseph Barnes, Peter Bonsangue, Angelisa Bowman and William Mattiello.?• New teacher- David Heckman, High School Technology Education.?• Resignations- Christopher Carrion, High School Part-time Cafeteria; Stephanie Compton, Hawley Center Part-time Cafeteria; Mary Langille, Hawley Center Part-time Cafeteria.?• Mentors appointed: Timothy Granquist, April Hessling, Debra Kettering, Timothy Tirjan and Bernard Bieski.?• Two students from Keystone College were approved to be placed in school to complete their field experience: Kim Neary- with teacher Deanna Nezlo; Rene’ Gentile, with teacher Susan Gabrielson.?• East Stroudsburg University student Julie Cordier was approved to do student teaching with teacher Kelly Adams.?The next Wallenpaupack Area School District Board meeting is set for Monday, Sept. 10 at 6 p.m., at the High School Library. There is a committee meeting at 5:30 p.m., also open to the public.