Twenty-five area youngsters will compete in the 34th annual Tri-State Spelling Bee Sunday, March 17, at 1:30 p.m. at the Delaware Valley High School auditorium.

These students have earned the right to represent their respective schools by qualifying from their school bees after taking a written test to determine eligibility to compete at the school level. Each school is sending five spellers.

They are: Montague Elementary: Shaun Riordan, Andreona Mabeee, Nestor Vasquez, Donovan Parker, Zachary DeGennaro; Dingman-Delaware: Ryan Gates, Gage Mancuso, Samantha Sodora, Katelyn Troy, Olivia Zinn; Port Jervis: Benjamin McCoy, Jeffrey Mackin, Alethea Perrin, Emily Tigue, and Carson Monks (home-schooled, and last year’s winner); Delaware Valley: Shane Fagan, Paulina Henzel-Kedsior, Ben Horowitz, Sophia Roberts, and Dana Stroup; Eldred: Julia Foster, Cat Nicholson, Bailey Leput, Anthony Strasser. And Toni Casilla.

School Coordinators are: Montague – Dominic Esposito; Dingman-Delaware – Nancy Schoenleber; Port Jervis – Barbara Cathy; Delaware Valley – Carmel Kratz and Emily Shelauskas; Eldred – Donald Post.

All six coordinators are members of the Tri-State Spelling Bee Committee which also includes Paul Brislin, treasurer and National Bee laison, Sherry Mohan, spelling placards, programs, informational fliers and certificates, and James Burnett, pronouncer.

This year’s winner earns an all-expense paid trip, along with a parent or guardian, to the National Scripps Spelling Bee May 28-30 at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center in the Washington, D.C. area.