NEWFOUNDLAND - The Wallenpaupack South Elementary 4th and 5th grade chorus will present their spring concert on Thursday, April 10 at 6:30 p.m. in the school’s cafetorium in Newfoundland.
     The first half of the concert, Lights! Camera! Action! By John Higgins and John Jacobson and arranged by Higgins features songs from movies including “SpongeBob Square Pants,” with Kayla Flores playing kazoo, “Finding Nemo,” “The Polar Express,” “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory,” and “Shrek!”
     There is a script between songs that will feature special guests. After a brief intermission the chorus will return for a set of popular tunes from Music Express magazines including “I Gotta Feelin’;”  “Lean On Me;”  “Don’t Stop Believin’;”  the Elton John hit “Your Song;”   “It’s My Life,” recorded by Bon Jovi;  and Katy Perry’s “Firework.”   “Dry Your Tears, Afrika,” by John Williams is from the movie Amistad. 
   The chorus members will sing the song in the African Mende language.  Abigail Soskil will give the English translation: Dry your tears, Afrika.  Your children are coming home.  We’re coming home, Afrika. Hush child, don’t cry.  Sing a song of joy! Recently, the chorus participated in a Skype with children in Kenya, Africa and sang this song for them.  The concert comes to a close with the spirited song “The Song of Life” by Mac Huff and John Jacobson and arranged by Mac Huff.
     "Michael Weber will add amazing rhythm on drums and Doug Smith will provide cool sounds on the bass," said school officials.
     Jean M. Shields, music teacher and Mark Kirsten, principal invite everyone to this evening of song. The members of the chorus are:
*** Grade 4
AaronToryak, Alana Hunter, Alexis Peet, Ashley Jones, Hailey Navratil, Halle G. DeEsch, Jonathan McDermott, Kylie Kresge, Liam Giraldo, Marissa Borer, Megan Desmet, Natalie Meredick, Nicholas Hussung, Sara Fultz, Scarlett Schratt, Sierra Demuysere, Wesley Langille.
*** Grade 5
Abigail Soskil, Alex DiLeo, Ashley Cruz, Brianna Youngster, Chloe Kelly, Elizabeth Lewis, Emily Langan, Jaielene Nieves, Jerry Cheatham, John Maher, Julie DeEsch, Kaitlynn Elders, Kayla Flores Kent Glatz, Leah Hearn, Makenna Peet, Mark Farrington, Melissa Eckert, Morgan Reece, Nevan Quinones, Noah Woeppel, Olivia Gilpin, Rachel Siegfried.