|
|
News Eagle - Hawley, PA
  • Columns Museum open sets extended summer hours

    • email print
  • MILFORD - The museum of the Pike County Historical Society, The Columns, has announced their extended hours for the months of July and August.
         The museum at 608 Broad St., Milford, is open Wednesday through Sunday from 1 to 4 p.m.
          In full swing once again this year is the society’s Summer Intern Program.  This year the Intern’s will be hosting guided tours, working on exhibits and putting together a program to be presented in cooperation with the Hotel Fauchere on the history of WWI to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the onset of “The Great War”.
         Interns Shannon Baird, Jackie Hoerst and Jarred Stagen have been elbow deep in research about several obscure artifacts, including an original piece of what once comprised Milford’s water pipe system. The Interns are also busy re-vamping signage, re-organizing the research library to include many recently acquired titles and conducting guided tours.
         The Museum is home to a vast array of artifacts and information which encompasses the rich history of Pike County. 
         It is also home to the famed Lincoln Flag, the flag which is stained with the blood of President Abraham Lincoln.  The museum also offers a fabulous collection of WWII memorabilia, including original War Bond posters and a vast collection of The Daily News from 1942-1944.  You will find the headlines were just as sensational back then as they are today in that particular publication.
         New for the summer, is an exhibit on fishing which includes a collection of lures salvaged from the Delaware River, antique fishing rods and reels, and a full size dory boat.  The museum seemingly has something for everyone to enjoy.
           To find out more about what the Columns Museum has to offer, visit www.pikehistorical.org.

        calendar