TUNKHANNOCK - The Thomas H. Kennedy Local History Roundtable, a coalition of historical societies and other related groups in Wayne and Pike County, was honored May 18 by the PA Route 6 Alliance.

James Asselstine, chairman of the Roundtable, was presented with the “Heritage Partnership Award” in Tunkhannock, along with other recipients of the 2017 Do 6 Awards. Based in Galeton, Potter County, the Alliance promotes tourism along the entire Route 6 corridor across Pennsylvania.

Award honorees are individuals, organizations, businesses and corporations which exemplify the mission of the PA Route 6 Alliance. That mission is to protect, preserve and enhance the scenic, cultural, historical and recreational resources of Pennsylvania’s northern tier.

The award presentation was held in Tunkhannock on May 18.

Thomas H. Kennedy Local History Roundtable was the recipient of the Heritage Partnership Award. This award is presented to a group, person or organization that has demonstrated excellence in historic preservation, cultural preservation, interpretation, and/or education through cross-corridor thinking and interagency cooperation.

In particular, the Roundtable was recognized for its publication, “Local History Past-Port” which was first produced in 2016. The booklet is a guide showcasing and directing people to historical societies, museums, and historical sites in Wayne, Lackawanna, and Pike Counties.

It offers a page on 15 museums and sites, with a description, location, hours of operation, contact information, and a photograph. Users are encouraged to visit each site to get a “Past-Port” stamp. Collect all stamps and users receive a free gift.

The purpose of this project was to raise awareness of the rich and diverse local heritage and history that helped form the region.

The publication was designed and created by Joan Gillner, Executive Director of the Dorflinger Glass Museum and Wildlife Sanctuary.

Thomas H. Kennedy Local History Roundtable, which was named for its late founder, a local educator and historian, meets on a quarterly basis. The members share ideas and work on projects to mutually promote their common interest, historic preservation and educating the public about the area’s heritage.

Other award winners were:

Edinboro Art & Music Fest, Edinboro, PA - Heritage Tourism Award Wyoming County Cultural Center at the Dietrich Theater, Tunkhannock, Pa. - Artisan of the Year Chip Harrison, D.C.N.R., Galeton, Pa. - Heritage Leadership Award The City of Warren - Heritage Community of the Year Helen Nawrocki, Potter County Education Council & Bear Mountain Herbs - Lifetime Achievement Award.

For information about the PA Route 6 Alliance and the US Route 6 Tourist Association - Pennsylvania Division, call 814-435-7706 or visit www.paroute6.com and on Facebook.