HARRISBURG - Wallenpaupack Area High School seniors Andrew Stuart, of Lackawaxen Township, and Evan Sennefelder, of Dreher Township, were victorious in the National Automotive Technology Competition held in New York City. Sen. Lisa Baker invited them to Harrisburg and shared their championship news with the Senate.  

In introductory remarks on the Senate floor, Sen. Baker, R-20th, said she was “pleased to spotlight a story of education working as we hope it will, and to present two promising individuals to receive affirmation for their impressive accomplishment.”

She noted that students from the same program at the same school with the same teacher won the 2015 national championship.

“These two young men deserve credit for their skill, their intensity, and their competitive spirit. Their school has earned kudos too. At Wallenpaupack, student initiative is supplemented by considerable commitment on the part of teachers and administrators,” Baker said.

By winning the competition, the students earned college scholarships to automotive and diesel technology programs. Evan will attend Universal Technical Institute and Andrew is enrolling at Lincoln Technical Institute.

While at the Capitol, the students met with Sen. Baker, Rep. Mike Peifer, R-139th, and Gov. Tom Wolf. They received legislative citations and plaques commemorating their success from the Pike County Commissioners.